Whitney’s New Equipment Blouse

19 Oct
One versatile top... many ways

By Whitney

Shopbop’s sale lead me to another fantastic purchase that is taking me from day to play.  The Equipment Brett shirt is a more fitted version of their standard silk blouse which looks a ton better with my body type.  I like how it only has one pocket and the lines are leaner allowing me to wear this to work as well as tucked into my skinny jeans on weekends.  The pale blue color is really sweet and goes so well with navy and black.  I wore this under a suit one day and tucked into a pleated midi skirt a week later.  Very versatile!  Here are some more options for this great top just showing how far $150 can take me.

Vince Leather Mini Skirt – $495

Whistles Eliza Skirt – $118

JCrew Jardin Skirt – $88

Alice and Olivia tweed Cady Shorts – $198

Alice and Olivia Stacey Pants in Tan – $253

J Brand Bianca High Rise Flare Leg Stretch Jean in Riviera – $196

5 Responses to “Whitney’s New Equipment Blouse”

  1. a October 19, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Great post! As usual. I actually had a fashion question… I was invited to a black tie event on Saturday. But I was invited yesterday. And had nothing to wear, so naturally, I went to Rent the Runway. But most options I was looking at (e.g., floor length) were not available on such short notice. So I got the Tibi Black Shift Mini (http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/tibi_dresses/blackzepplinminishift) and the Mark & James by Bagdley Mischka Mini Sequin Pixie Dress (http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/markjamesbadgleymischka_dresses/minisequinpixiedress). How would you accessorize these? I’m in Michigan so it’s REALLY COLD, and I was thinking opaque black tights with closed toed heels (like the images) because I don’t want to draw attention away from the dress with awesome shoes. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. The theme of the event is “The Golden Age of Film,” and is being held at a museum. Thanks!!

    • prettypolishedblog October 19, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      I love the dresses you picked from Rent the Runway and I think either one will be perfect for the occasion. I think your plan sounds great – you do not want to freeze and tights really look nice under sparkly, mini dresses. For the Tibi, I’d even consider going with something a tad less opaque – maybe a more translucent black with closed toe pumps. Do you have colorful earrings? I’d wear those and a fun clutch, minaudiere, or small evening bag with a dramatic chain strap. For the Mark & James, I would say opaque tights, stud earrings (since this dress is a bit more bold), and an elegant evening bag in silver, black, or red (since it looks like there is a touch of red in there). Have a blast – sounds like a great event!
      xo, Lauren

    • prettypolishedblog October 19, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      PS – Let us know which dress you wear & send us a pic!

      • a October 20, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

        Thanks so much for the advice! I will absolutely send a pic from Saturday. So far I can tell you I’ll be wearing the Mark & James with topaz studs. Clutch color is TBD. The picture I sent is a bit deceiving as well, since the sequins aren’t actually silver- they’re a mix of blue, red, and silver sequins. Thanks again!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PRETTY Polished - November 22, 2011

    […] at given the price tag. I love it paired with a baby blue button down underneath (Another way I can wear my Equipment blouse?) and with the cinnamon flowerlace shorts. So […]

Leave a Reply

