Winter Wear

15 Nov

by Lauren

Even though it was 70 degrees in D.C. today, the time has come to think about cold weather outfits and combos.  School and work have been crazy these last few weeks so I have not been scouring the inter-webs for clothing, but here are a few things that I think will be clutch for winter wear.

Outerwear:

I’ve really been loving going faux (fur that is).  I feel good about saving the cute little animals and the right pick still looks luxe and fab.  I have been wearing my Michael Michael Kors faux fur vest CONSTANTLY – so much in fact, that I have been contemplating adding another color to my collection.  This Milly one is on sale and I think the color is perfect for winter.  On the faux note, I love this brand Mink Pink & their camel faux fur coat is a fun touch for finishing off a going out ensemble + the price won’t break your bank (@ $148).  During the Saks sale last week, this Add Down coat I have been eyeing for an eternity went on sale.  It’s not on sale anymore but keep an eye out – their puffy coats are the absolute best – warm but not overly bulky, and the material has a nice finish to it.  I like to make sure that my puffy coats have a belt – there is nothing worse than looking like the abominable snowman with a round waist.

Underwear: 

I have been really into wearing pants these days.  This is a far cry from my former self that only wore dresses.  Hot pink is the perfect shade for the holiday season and into the dark, dismal winter months.  I absolutely love the electric hue of these Jenni Kayne’s but the DVF pair are slightly less expensive – and look great cuffed up.  Although I try to save the animals by wearing faux fur, my affinity for leather can’t be curbed.  I am obsessed with the Susana Monaco leather and wool leggings & of course this Madewell leather skirt.  The former are a great classic / edgy hybrid.  My love for Equipment blouses will never die and that love coupled with my penchant for animal print = love @ first sight for this pale gray number.

One Response to “Winter Wear”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PRETTY Polished - November 22, 2011

    […] included this skirt in her Winter Wear post last week but I wanted to emphasize just how gorgeous this piece was in person.  The leather is […]

Leave a Reply

