My Nightly Beauty Regimen

6 Feb

By Whitney

By nature, I am pretty OCD and how I get ready for bed every night is no different.  Lauren and I were discussing how I am jealous of her coconut oil experiment which turned into sharing what I do every night before bed.  I thought I’d share with everyone just for some helpful hints as well as some new products for you guys to try.

Before I begin, I’d like to remind everyone that I have extremely sensitive skin.  I’m light everything – hair, eyes, skin so the Gods are not in my favor here.  As much as I would love to rub serums and oils on my body and look amazing afterwards, my skin would fully breakout like a 12 year old boy and I would be tethered to cover up for the next two weeks.  If you can handle these things, I envy you.

Step 1:  Prep

I don’t know how to convince every one of our readers to buy these but please, go spend the $6 and get a pack of  Yes To Cucumbers facial towelettes.  I wipe down my skin (I do have to rub a little to get my liquid liner off) but these have changed my face.  If you’re drunk and forget to wash your face, a quick wipe down with these will keep you from kicking yourself the next morning when a bright new zit would have normally appeared on your chin (I speak from experience).  Since I started prepping my face for wash with these refreshing biodegradable towelettes , I haven’t broken out.

Step 2:  Cleanse

I thank Lauren everyday for convincing me to buy my Clarisonic Mia ($119). Changing the brush head on this baby every three months is key too so don’t get lazy.  Go buy four of the replacement brushes when Sephora has their 20% off sale and you’re good for the year.  As for face wash, I am a fan of Clean and Clear Acne Stress Control Power Clear Scrub. It has little exfoliator beads in it (who knows if they work) but it’s gentle and acne fighting at the same time.  I’ve tried the fancy DDF and Murad facewashes for $50 and they’ve done nothing for my acne problems.  This $8 drugstore item, on the other hand, seems to work.

Step 3:  Treatment


Well, it’s winter so my chin tends to get acne and dry out from my prescription zit cream.  My dermatologist told me that any treatment come first and then your moisturizer.  If I don’t have a specific crater in mind that I need to treat, I swipe my face with Josie Maran’s Blemishes R Gone Argan Clearing Pads ($28 / 60 pads).  My go-to lotion for the extremely dry spots is Mario Badescu Oil Free Moisturizer with SPF 17 ($22).  I’m paranoid that I’m getting forehead wrinkles but serums dry my skin out so easily so when I tried Fresh’s Black Tea Age Delay Face Serum and it actually worked and didn’t irritate me, I forked over the $80.  It’s lasted me six months so far.   I’m also paranoid about my under eye dark circles so when BirchBox sent me a big sample of VMV Hypollaergenics Re-Everything Eye Serum ($80) I got excited.  My eyes usually start to tear up and itch the second I put eye cream on and this hasn’t affected it so far so I’ll wait a month to see if it’s worth the pretty hefty price (although, you use so little this bottle would probably last you a full year).  Let’s also not forget about your lips.  I slather Aquaphor ($5) on my puckers right before I turn the lights off for the night.  On Oprah a few years ago, a 55 year old woman with no wrinkles was interviewed on how she looked so good without any surgery or botox.  Her answer?  She put Aquaphor all over her entire face.  If you have the skin to handle vaseline goop all over your face, go try it and let us know.

One Response to “My Nightly Beauty Regimen”

  1. Allison February 7, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    I used to have really oily skin in high school, but recently my face has been really dry. I’ve tried Clinique’s and Sephora’s ultra moisturizers (or equivalents), and the only thing that’s helped my face has been Aquafor. It is god. My face is roughly 10 times softer than any other lotions I’ve used, and people have even complimented me on my skin. I don’t know if this is going too far, but it really feels like it’s changed the texture of my skin. I’m using it every other night, sometimes on top of Clinique’s Youth Surge. (http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P232337&categoryId=B70)

    But DON’T put it on your eyes! I’ve heard bad things can happen. I use Clinique’s All About Eyes Rich. (http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P174502)

    And I hope my face will have no wrinkles when I’m 55 either.

Leave a Reply

