The quest for the perfect navy striped top

2 May

By Whitney

Lauren and I have discussed how we are both on the hunt for the PERFECT nautical navy striped long/bracelet sleeved top for this season.  This is not easy.  A) the stripes need to be the perfect width.  B)  The fabric can’t be too heavy or too light.  C)  We want it in navy.  Not red, not gray. Navy.  This seems like an easy thing to find since it’s always in season but so far, no luck.  Below are my findings (apologies if the insane amount of stripes drives you a bit bonkers).


1.  Best Option Not in Blue –

This would be PERFECT if you substituted the gray for navy.  Love it with white pants or navy shorts though.

DKNY Pure Striped Linen Sweater – $175

2.  Best Sweater Version (a tie) –

This is the perfect sweater for an evening at the beach.

Autumn Cashmere Striped Tunic – $167

Part of one of my favorite joint collaborations for spring, this sweater’s texture adds to its allure.

Altuzarra for JCrew Serge Sweater – $295

3.  Best button down shirt option –

The perfect way to incorporate the look into your workwear or to tuck into your navy skinnies.

Aubin & Wills Silk Blouse – $155

4.  Best Dress Option –

I got this at the Shopbop sale and I love it.  It’s light, it’s cute, it’s not see through and I’ll wear it nonstop this summer.

Splendid Belted Nautical Stripe Dress – $128

5.  Best contenders thus far (a tie once again) –

A go to since my high school days (and now one of my favorite baby gift brands), Petit Bateau was my first stop on my mission mostly because it’s a French brand and no one gets this style better than the French.

Petit Bateau  Marniere Top – $90

JCrew really has quite the selection of striped anything this season and I want pretty much everything.  They’re carrying Saint James Galathee tee which I think has solidified my top spot for my nautical desire.   The pink and aqua version of this is pretty cute as well…

Saint James Galathee Tee – $90

Leave a Reply

