Mad for Windowpane Plaid

31 Jan

By Whitney

I must confess, windowpane plaid might be one of the few “menswear” trends that I am into.   I don’t think I can walk around  with pants that are wide or put a tie on or something masculine like that.  What I can do is get into menswear prints that have gone feminine like this one.  All of these are great transition pieces for when you never know what to wear when winter is sort of over and spring is sort of here.

Windowpane Plaid

On the lefthand side we have the pricier pieces.  JCrew’s Featherweight Cashmere Cardigan ($268) in navy sky or the orchid purple pink is something I hope will last until they have a sale.  Tibi came out with such cute items with windowpane checks and these two are my favorite.  The pleated pants ($385 ) would look amazing with just a plain white cotton t shirt and Lauren adores the drop waist feature in the checkered dropwaist dress ($445).   Kate Spade’s Franny Coat ($545) is pricey but I adore the idea of wearing this with all black (i.e. my daily life uniform in nyc).

Forever21 has this adorable checked button down shirt in both mint (love) and black and white for $16.  I mean, it’s at your own risk if you wash it once and then the arm falls off but still.  Did you read that correctly?  $16.  Amazing.  GET IT.  They also have this adorable grid pattern sweater for the steeper price of $20…Topshop’s Grid Print Tunic Dress ($76) is absolutely adorable and I love the idea of this with opaque tights and some booties.

Leave a Reply

