Springing Forward

20 Feb

by Lauren

I am officially over winter and am starting to think about what spring trends I want to try and what spring looks I want to buy.  Recently I have been really into “separates” & I want to carry this forward into my spring purchases.  I know that spring is going to invite tons of cute dresses (as it always does) but, I really do get more value out of making strategic purchases of shorts, tops, pants, and sweaters, in order to mix and match.  That said, I am eyeing basic bottoms and unique tops so I can create multiple outfits from a few key pieces.

Philip Lim

#1).  A versatile pair of silk pants.  I love the Draped Pocket Trousers by Phillip Lim & buying these in a color that is a “neutral” for my wardrobe, means I could mix in a number of tops.  Navy is probably the best idea for me – but maybe a pale blue or green would be best for your wardrobe!  Think about your mixes before you purchase. (PS the draped pocket trousers run big – order at least 1 size down).

Yigal Azrouel

#2).  Shorts, Shorts, Shorts.  I cannot get enough of shorts.  I think they are uber chic and an easy way to put together a stand out outfit.  I love this pair by Yigal Azrouel (pictured), but I also like to browse Asos for good deals on shorts (love these (pictured below), these & these (own)).  I wear most of my shorts year round (with tights in the winter!).

asos

#3).  Sweaters and sweatshirts.  Lately I have been wearing a lot of casual and comfortable clothes and pairing them with dressier bottoms.  I think it is fun to “dress” something “up” that you wouldn’t otherwise consider wearing for a night on the town.  This has included baggy sweaters and sweatshirts.  If you pair these with a dressier bottom, some jewels, and heels its creates a fun, playful look.

Floral Sweatshirt

Yes this is a floral sweatshirt (by MSGM) & yes I love it.  Because there are so many colors – for my wardrobe, this matches almost every single bottom that I have.  It’s playful, cozy, unexpected, and fun.  I dig it. I also like this Asos sweatshirt & this sweater (which I’m wearing right now).

Lime

360 SWEATER – I have never heard of this brand, but I am definitely going to watch it.  I love this lime sweater.  I think we are going to see a lot of neon this spring and a bold sweater would be a great addition to the wardrobe.  I would wear this with the pants pictured above, the striped shorts, or the navy shorts.  I think this neon hue would look awesome with navy, black, denim, or even a pastel if you want to daring.

SR Top

While this Sonia Rykiel top is not a sweatshirt per se, it actually has a sweatshirt panel in the back – I like how its a feminine take on menswear with an unexpected terry cloth back.  This would be so cute with high waisted shorts, skinny jeans, or a tailored pair of pants for a modern yet still, ultra classic look.

Leave a Reply

